Celtic Fairy Tales

Celtic Fairy Tales

eBook - 2013
Rate this:
"Celtic Fairy Tales" is a collection of twenty-six classic stories from British Isles, collected by Joseph Jacobs, and accompanied by the masterful black-and-white illustrations of John D. Batten. It includes such tales as "Connlaand the Fairy Maiden," "Guleesh," "The Field of Boliauns," "The Horned Women," "Conal Yellowclaw," "The Sprightly Tailor," and many more. Heavily influenced by the Brothers Grimm and the romantic nationalism ubiquitous in his contemporary folklorists, Jacobs was responsible for introducing English fairy tales to English children, who had previously chiefly enjoyed those derived from French and German folklore.
Publisher: [United States]: Read Books Ltd., 2013.
ISBN: 9781447490210
Branch Call Number: eBook hoopla
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at STPL

To Top