Magyk

Magyk

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:
44
19
1
 …
After learning that she is the Princess, Jenna is whisked from her home and carried toward safety by the Extraordinary Wizard, those she always believed were her father and brother, and a young guard known only as Boy 412--pursued by agents of those who killed her mother ten years earlier.
Publisher: New York : Katherine Tegen Books, c2005.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780060577322
0060577320
9780060577315
0060577312
Branch Call Number: J Sage
Characteristics: 564 p. : ill., maps ; 19 cm. + 1 CD-ROM (digital ; 3 in.)
Additional Contributors: Zug, Mark - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 01, 2018

Septimus Heap: Magyk. The first book published by the author Angie Sage, and a great start at that. The Septimus Heap series involves the Heap family, as they live in olden times of magic and sorcery. This first book, is named Magyk, and is an introductory book to the world of Septimus Heap. It involves suspenseful running, fighting, and mystery with this family and their allies. The main cast includes Silas and Sarah Heap, Boy 412, as well as the other Heaps and relatives. Septimus Heap: Magyk is a well-planned out story, involving key elements of a spectacular novel, but can also lack in some areas. The initial chapters of the story of suspenseful and well thought-out, as well as the finale of the book, but the middle chapters are a grey-zone. The first few and last chapters give you a lot of information at once, but the others manage to lack and feel empty. The book is detailed, little foreshadowing could turn into something much, much more; although this can be a double-edged sword when it comes to pacing. The characters of this novel are all fantastic, each with their own unique personalities as well as quirks. The villains are a bit lacking with the amount of information given of them, but nevertheless, Septimus Heap: Magyk is a great experience.
Rating: 3.5/5
@AyWrites of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

v
violet_panther_222
Feb 03, 2018

This is an amazing book and I would recommend it to ages 10 to 25. If you read it lower than ten, it is confusing and it may be boring if you read it after about 25. Magyk is a wonderful book.

g
green_ant_2572
Jan 04, 2018

Great book, many characters! I especially reccomend this book to Harry Potter or Sisters Grimm fans.

h
Hinatad1
Feb 25, 2017

The first time I tried out this book it didn't seem that appealing to me.
Than, one day I decided to try it out and again and LOVED it. I never thought that I would end up liking this book and set off to finish the series.

JCLBeckyC Feb 22, 2017

I had trouble keeping track of all the characters in this middle-grade fantasy. Not my favorite style, but it was a quick and easy read. If you know any fantasy fans who like fast-paced adventures, recommend this book to them. Read-alike: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J. K. Rowling.

g
Gwen904
Nov 03, 2016

Great book! I read this a while ago, but didn't really understand it (I was young). Now that I'm older, it's amazing!

me_tis_awesome Sep 14, 2016

Aaarrrgggghhhh!!!!! Now that I need flyte it's not there c'mon what's the point of a library if you can't get the 2nd book to a 7 series. Well this is the job of a library, when ever you are looking, whanting or needing something it's never there. BPL members this is a library rule.

j
JoeJoey610
Aug 09, 2016

I had tried this book a few years ago, and it had not struck my fancy. I decided to try it again, though, and I LOVED it! This book is packed with creativity and rich characters. So glad there are so many more in the series!

w
wandalynn
Jun 25, 2016

Slow to get started but lots of fun once it got underway. Maybe the plot was a little too predictable (at least for an adult) but who doesn’t like a story where everything works out in the end?

m
megoscar
Aug 15, 2015

this is a book that Harry Potter will happily blow a day off for!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

g
Gwen904
Mar 17, 2018

Gwen904 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 15

v
violet_panther_222
Feb 03, 2018

violet_panther_222 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 40

v
violet_moose_44
Aug 13, 2016

violet_moose_44 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

a
AMVK
Jul 02, 2016

AMVK thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

b
blue_cobra_1137
Jun 11, 2015

blue_cobra_1137 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

g
green_frog_251
Oct 13, 2014

green_frog_251 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

black_cat_2441 Oct 12, 2014

black_cat_2441 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

Green_Zebu_11 Jul 16, 2014

Green_Zebu_11 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

w
white_donkey_12
Jun 06, 2014

white_donkey_12 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

i
indigo_cat_317
May 15, 2013

indigo_cat_317 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 14

View All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

o
orange_beaver_178
Jul 09, 2015

In Magyk a seventh son of a seventh son is born. He is to be a magykal person. His name, Septimus heap. On the same day the princess of the castle is born. The queen is shot right after the princess is born. Why was she shot? Why are sevens so special? read Magyk to find out.

Quotes

Add a Quote

b
booknerd3
Sep 13, 2008

Tell no one you found her. She was born to you. Understand?

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at STPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top