Dangerous Women

Dangerous Women

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
"All new and original to this volume, the 21 stories in Dangerous Women include work by twelve New York Times bestsellers, and seven stories set in the authors' bestselling continuities--including a new "Outlander" story by Diana Gabaldon, a tale of Harry Dresden's world by Jim Butcher, a story from Lev Grossman set in the world of The Magicians, and a 35,000-word novella by George R. R. Martin about the Dance of the Dragons, the vast civil war that tore Westeros apart nearly two centuries before the events of A Game of Thrones. Also included are original stories of dangerous women--heroines and villains alike--by Brandon Sanderson, Joe Abercrombie, Sherilynn Kenyon, Lawrence Block, Carrie Vaughn, S. M. Stirling, Sharon Kay Penman, and many others."-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Tor, 2013.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780765332066
076533206X
9781429955966
Branch Call Number: Fic Dang
Characteristics: 784 pages ; 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Dozois, Gardner R.

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Winter is Coming

Winter Is Coming Preparing for Season 8 of Game of Thrones It's October. The air cools, leaves turn colors, and pumpkins are suddenly fashionable. Meanwhile, you have watched seven seasons of Game of Thrones and caught up to date on the trials, tribulations, and relationships of the inhabitants of Westeros. The finale, Season 9, is not due out until next year at the earliest. A patron might… (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
trevorbrightwell
Dec 16, 2015

I picked this book up for the George RR Martin story. I was disappointed in this story. There were way to many characters that had no back stories and keeping track of all of them was impossible. There are a few plot twist, where I didn't even know the characters that were involved. I would rate this story as 2 stars.

Many of the stories felt like they ended, but didn't really have a conclusion.

For me the best stories were Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell and Bombshells. I have added the Dresden files book to my shelves for future reading.

The worst stories were Nora's Song and Name the Beast.

Overall I would rate this 2.5 stars.

c
Chapel_Hill_KenMc
Jan 04, 2015

Like most anthologies, this collection contains a few golden kernels within the chaff. The selections cross genres, including fantasy, mystery, and suspense. Edited by George R.R. Martin ("Game of Thrones"), his own novella reads more like an appendix to a history of the "Thrones" universe and will only interest serious fans.

a
Aquarius_22_HN
Nov 29, 2014

I got this book just for The Princess and The Queen by George R. R. Martin. If you haven't read it yet, do it now. You will not regret it.

b
bishop026
Apr 01, 2014

My four star rating is ONLY for the George Martin tale.

z
zippycat
Mar 08, 2014

A series of not-so-short stories, mostly sci-fi or fantasy. I skipped through many of them, just not that interesting.

ChristchurchLib Jan 21, 2014

"There's something for everyone in this genre-spanning anthology of 21 stories, in which women - heroines and villainesses alike - take centre stage. Fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files, Diana Gabaldon's Outlander saga, and George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire will enjoy exploring new facets of the worlds in which these series are set. Meanwhile, stand-alone stories by fantasy stalwarts such as Megan Lindholm, Brandon Sanderson, and Joe Abercrombie complement entries by a diverse group of veteran authors known for their work in other genres, including Sharon Kay Penman, Lawrence Block, and Nancy Kress." Fantasy January 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/e88314ee-6fa8-4404-a4ca-a4434322a503?postId=6ada4461-b345-4148-b15d-3f13e91854b6

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at STPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top